Nintendo Direct returns September 13th focused on Nintendo Switch and Nintendo 3DS games

1 year ago 1 Comment

Nintendo’s periodic news broadcast is returning this week on Wednesday, September 13th with the latest edition of Nintendo Direct. The presentation will primarily focus on Nintendo Switch and Nintendo 3DS games releasing in the next few months.

Of course if you’re on this website, you’re probably looking for an announcement of Animal Crossing for the Nintendo Switch to finally happen. It’s likely that a new game announcement or two will appear at this week’s Nintendo Direct, but whether that includes an Animal Crossing title is really anyone’s guess at this point.

However, Nintendo does promise new details on the upcoming Super Mario Odyssey title for Nintendo Switch though. We expect to hear more about the game’s various playable Kingdoms and more. Other expected games include Fire Emblem Warriors and Xenoblade Chronicles 2, both set to launch later this year.

If you’re in the special club of people who still remember that Nintendo announced an Animal Crossing mobile game a year and a half ago now, this likely won’t be your moment. The Japanese page for this week’s Nintendo Direct rules out any mobile announcements saying “New information on applications for smartphones is not included”, per a Google translation.

There is always the small chance though that the Animal Crossing app makes an appearance at Tuesday morning’s Apple Special Event at 10am PDT for the latest iPhones just as Super Mario Run did last September. We do not expect this to happen though — it’s only a possibility.

Catch the Nintendo Direct live on YouTube or Twitch at 3PM Pacific Time, 6PM Eastern Time, and 11PM British Summer Time. The expected run-time is approximately 45 minutes. As always, we’ll be watching here at Animal Crossing World and posting any relevant Animal Crossing news from the event.